Subscribe to our Mailing List

Get the news right in your inbox!

Popular Topics

The Hating Game by Sally Thorne

April 28, 2018 No Comments

Amazon Description:

Lucy Hutton and Joshua Templeman sit across from each other every day . . . and they hate each other. Not dislike. Not begrudgingly tolerate. HATE. Lucy can’t understand Joshua’s joyless, uptight approach to his job and refusal to smile. Joshua is clearly baffled by Lucy’s overly bright clothes, quirkiness, and desire to be liked.

Now they’re up for the same promotion and Lucy, usually, a determined people-pleaser has had enough: it’s time to take him down. But as the tension between Lucy and Joshua reaches its boiling point, it’s clear that the real battle has only just begun.

 

My Thoughts: Look at me finishing a book within a day. I haven’t perhaps enjoyed an adult contemporary this much since Sophie Kinsella’s My Not So Perfect Life which I read in the summer of 2017.

I think I spent about 99% of the time smiling like an idiot whilst reading this book. It’s full of cute and somewhat angsty moments. It’s a well-written rom-com that will leave you full of emotions.

Let’s talk about Lucy, the main character, something I loved most about her was her sense of humor, at times she had me laughing out loud at her ‘one-liners’. She doesn’t take things too seriously.  She’s also small (like me) so when she can’t get onto restaurant bar stools, I was feeling her pain.

I generally wasn’t expecting to laugh as much as I did, Lucy and the other main character Josh, bounce off each other in such a way that you couldn’t help but root for them.

This book completely got me out of a reading slump, I read this in the space of a day, which is something I don’t do very often,  the story just flowed so well and because I had that connection to the main characters from the beginning and got a feel for there personalities, I couldn’t wait to see what antics ensued.  I won’t spoil, but a certain work day out was one of my favorite chapters, full of competition.

So back to the cute, this is up there as one of the cutest books I’ve ever read *swoon*. Not just in terms of ‘ships’ but with the little mind games and office competition going on, if anything Lucy and Josh remind me of Pam and Jim from the office, which is another reason I probably love them so much (PAM&JIM 5EVA)

I’ve seen on twitter that Sally is currently writing her next book (The Hating Game being her debut) which she says will be even more angsty than this one??? which will probably kill me, so Its fair to say I can’t wait for that! Although there is no publication date yet.

This book is perfect for fans of Sophie Kinsella & Sarah Morgan.

 

Hannah

UK Book blogger, mostly Young Adult, Fantasy/Thrillers.

All posts

No Comments

Leave a Reply

Welcome to Novels & Tea!
my space on the internet to write and chat about books. I post reviews, recommendations and hauls across a variety of genres.

love Hannah x

Follow ME

Subscribe to our Mailing List

Get the news right in your inbox!

Popular Topics

Latest Posts

Categories

Popular Links

Twitter Feed

Instagram

Archives

×
%d bloggers like this: